ToAsT.


Four months, 3days ago, I did the BC(The Big Chop) It was one of the best decisions I ever made in my life. Not only was it a decision that was a long time coming, It was also a well researched, well thought out decision. Prior to this I had done-and still continue to do research on maintaining my hair in its natural state-complete with its messy array of curls and coils and naps 🙂

This isnt a life changing decision. Starvation did not cease, in Africa because I chopped off my hair. I’m African, and like a good number of African ladies, I had never thought to manage my own ‘natural’ hair in its natural state. I had only handled it in its relaxed state.
For a long time, though, I had toyed with the idea of my natural hair. And, when I chopped off my relaxed ends, I felt a sense of relief..and accomplishment.
But, as with everything that isn’t the ‘norm’, It sparked up different feelings in different people. Suffice it to say that some of my friends thought I had gone bonkers. Some thought(and still think) that it was/is a ‘phase’ and will pass(there are people who don’t think I will carry it through, for at least a year..lol..God keeping us, proving them wrong will give me so much pleasure). Some think that im very bold, for making such a move.
All of them are wrong 🙂
Because, there’s really one reason I chopped off my hair. And that’s because I wanted to do it. I.Wanted.To.Do.It. Period. Its the one thing that I did for ME. The one thing for ME that i’ve done in a long time.
And so, it was a momentous decision for me. Because, with the growth of my hair, I find that  I am also growing with the experience. Learning patience. Learning tolerance of the views of other people. Learning, little by little, how to overlook some things.
Therefore, even though my father hates it and thinks I look juvenile and has subjected me to hiding it under braids because it doesnt fit his mold of what MY hair should look like, even though My brother thinks it isnt my best look, even though my mom is unable to decide what she thinks, and Chinwe thinks that im crazy, even though my hair stylist thinks that I should ‘blow it out’,  It doesnt really matter 🙂
Because in the end, this is really about ME.
On the plus side, Ike thinks I look classy, Anu thinks I look gorgeous, and Ijeoma thinks that I look like a hot lesbian chic(#laughing). My sister, God bless her soul is probably the only member of my family, who remotely gets it 🙂 and my Gary, who hated my hair at first, now completely adores it 🙂
So here’s to me, and my confused mass of curls! We shall, God willing, beat all the odds, and together, grow into our full maturity, despite the opposition. And we will stay beautiful(at least most of the time..lol)Most of all, we shall be together!
 Thanks to the natural hair sisters from whom I draw inspiration- Kandee, Natural chica, Nushy 🙂 May we stay strong in our resolve!
To us! #Imaginary glasses clink…lol.
3 thoughts on “ToAsT.

  1. We just have to do us sometimes. The desire to please others is what makes us miserable many a times. so welldone for doing you.

Leave a Reply

